Ain’t Got Game

Neither Christa nor I was satisfied with the results of Friday night’s football shoot. Not only did the Panthers play poorly, going scoreless, but I shot poorly. (You can’t plan for a shot in football, only prepare in general for which direction you think a pass or a receiver might go. I was usually in the wrong place at the wrong time.) Maybe I got the best that I could have hoped for, given the team’s dreadfully uninspired effort.

Of note: the apparent failure of autofocus on my Nikkor 70-200mm telephoto lens. When I tried tripping the shutter twice and got two misfires, I felt a twinge of panic. Then Christa reported the same thing when I handed her the lens for band pictures. I was so worried about it that, later, it was all I could do to wolf down a chicken meal. When we got home, I switched on the camera to try and see what the problem might be and found it — “lens not attached,” my LED screen informed me. In an instant, I re-seated the lens, restoring the connections to the camera body, and bam, my autofocus was back in business, as smooth and responsive as ever.

Tonight’s lesson: always periodically check to be sure the lens, especially the big, heavy telephoto, is properly seated.

This might have been the best photo I took all night. Before the action even started. An uninspired game resulting in uninspired shooting.

This might have been the best photo I took all night. Before the action even started. An uninspired game resulting in uninspired shooting.

The action came right to me for this shot, the only truly decent action pic of the game.

The play came to me for this shot.

Leave a Reply

