The Trip to Dallas

Christa and the girls and I loaded up the Highlander and lit out for Dallas (well, Arlington) for the Taylor Swift Concert at AT&T Stadium (AKA Cowboys Stadium). I brought all my camera gear but ended up not shooting a thing until the next day, when we hit the Dallas Galleria for some ice-skating. (The girls skated, not us.) I used only my 35mm prime and shot pretty well for the most part, though the RAW images seem slightly underexposed. The biggest challenge of shooting in the Galleria is not only the light, which is diffused from above, but the vertical architecture. However, the rising columns and crisscrossing shadows created some nice textures, which I tried to capture.

A view of several layers or floors of the Galleria.

A view of several layers or floors of the Galleria.

A view of the skating rink.

A view of the skating rink. That’s Christa, dead-center, waving at me.

Ice rink

Ice rink

Ice rink

Ice rink

Christa, Caylea and Brianna

Christa, Caylea and Brianna

Christa

Christa

The palm trees were a nice touch.

The palm trees were a nice touch.

I took this image from the doorway of an expensive shop where Christa was shopping. I kind of like the glossiness of this.

I liked the slick, shiny, superficial glossiness of this image.

Shadows, columns

Shadows, columns

Leave a Reply

