Spectricity

forblog

Light painting is a great photographic hobby that keeps me interested in the creative side of making images. It had been a while (at least a year) since I’d created one of these images, so I had fun both working on my own and with Caylea and Brianna, who were intrigued enough to do some light-painting of their own.

blog2

We made these in an alley adjacent to the Banner-News office in downtown Magnolia. The formula is simple: 1 tripod; ISO 100; f/11; 30-second exposure; one regular flashlight and one tri-color (well, blue and red) flashlight. I used my fast 35mm prime lens, but it is actually not necessary to open the aperture all the way. I posted one of these images on Facebook and a few people actually thought I’d photographed something supernatural. The girls, by the way, loved it.

Leave a Reply

