An extra body

My friend John recently texted me to ask if I wanted his Nikon D200 DSLR, more or less as a Christmas gift, and my instant response was, “Hell, yes!” I’m not one to turn down a free Nikon.

I drove up to Prescott to fetch it, excited to have a second camera body for use at the paper. It would be awesome to have my 70-200mm lens dedicated to one camera and, say, my prime 35mm or 50mm dedicated to another. That would make shooting so much easier. The D200 was obviously an older model and required some getting used to (the features were all at right angles to my D3200), and I had to devise a way to get images off the outdated memory card (thus my PC at work), but I’m not bitching.

My "new" D200 at work. That's my laptop in the background. It will serve as the photo station for this particular camera.

My “new” D200 at work. That’s my laptop in the background. It will serve as the photo station for this particular camera.

The camera feels solid and produced some nice test images at our city park.  I think it will work well  as a back-up/companion to the D3200. I can’t wait to start using it.

But … I might have to. At last night’s Christmas parade, the battery died after a mere 15 minutes of use. Fortunately, I had my D3200 with me and could swap lenses (I preferred using the telephoto) and continue  the assignment. But what a letdown, especially since I’d let the battery charge all day. Guess I’ll have to order a new one.

Still, I am excited to add this tool to our kit.

This was among the handful of test photos I took at the city park in Magnolia. I liked this image and hopeful the D200 will continue to produce quality work.

This was among the handful of test photos I took at the city park in Magnolia. I liked this image and hopeful the D200 will continue to produce quality work.

 

Leave a Reply

