HDR, Part II

Somewhat frustrated with the results of yesterday’s High Dynamic Range (HDR) experiments, I drove out to the ever-lovely Lake Columbia to capture images of clouds and water, which can make for some interesting photos.

My idea worked. Below is the composite of three frames, bracketed (1/15, 1/30 and 1/60), shot with my 35mm lens at ISO 100, f/16, and ‘polished’ in the Surrealistic mode on Photoshop CS6.

Pier, Lake Columbia, Magnolia, AR

Pier, Lake Columbia, Magnolia, AR

Richard R. Barron did amazing work with images I emailed to him. Here is the HDR composite he came up with, working in Photomatix.

Richard used a technique called painterly, available only in Photomatix. I can't wait to experiment with this program on my own.

Richard’s ‘painterly’ HDR image, the result of a bracket of photos I took in the alley behind the Banner-News office in Magnolia.

Leave a Reply

