The Glorious Wichitas

Richard R. Barron sent me some new, hi-res images from our “Above and Beyond” hiking trip in the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge. They’re all of me, pretty much, but that’s just an accident … I wanted some images that I could print out and hang on my wall at the office. Still, thought I’d post them here in the interest of electronic posterity. These are by far the most iconic images of the trip, as far as I’m concerned (photographic subject aside). That Richard shot them is to be expected. What I remember most: frigid, lacerating winds; a thrilling yet exhausting climb up to Sitting Rock in the Charon Gardens Wilderness; a bison standing not 15 yards from our car; the ice floe on French Lake; and the view from atop the wind-swept Mount Scott.

The spectacularly rugged Holy City of the Wichitas, probably the most beautiful place I've ever visited (with apologies to New York City, the Gulf of Mexico and Eureka Springs, Ark.)

The spectacularly rugged Holy City of the Wichitas, probably the most beautiful place I’ve ever visited (with apologies to New York City, the Gulf of Mexico and Eureka Springs, Ark.)

Me checking camera frames on the highway through the heart of the Wichita Mountains ... and Prairie Dog City. I'm freezing my ass off!

Me checking camera frames on the highway through the heart of the Wichita Mountains … and Prairie Dog City. I’m freezing my ass off!

Me taking photos on the dam at French Lake. We discovered an ice floe coating the surface of the lake, and marveled at the cracking sound the enormous chunks of ice made as they pushed up against the shore. A dazzling, stark, beautiful place.

Me taking photos on the dam at French Lake. We discovered an ice floe coating the surface of the lake, and marveled at the cracking sound the enormous chunks of ice made as they pushed up against the shore. A dazzling, stark, beautiful place.

 

Leave a Reply

