A Sale-a-bration of Lights!

Thursday night marked the annual Christmas parade in Magnolia. I’m not gonna lie to you, it was pretty lame. I’ve seen bigger and better in towns the same size as Magnolia, maybe a hair smaller. No spectacular floats. Mostly pickups hauling flatbed trailers and long stretches of kid “dancers” too young to be very impressive. It had ended before I even realized it. My wife and kids and I sat on the side of our street, and seemingly after five or six minutes, it was time for us to head back to the house, load up in the Highlander, and depart for SAU, where the Celebration of Lights ceremony was held. This event saw the lighting of the University Tree and various other holiday lights on and around campus. This included the bell tower, which, spectacularly, was accompanied by fireworks. I decided to go for some unusual long-exposure shots during the parade and the images below were the best of that lot; I was very happy with the shots I made at SAU. I used the 10-24mm Tamron for both events. This has become my go-to lens.

Fireworks over SAU

Fireworks over SAU

Parade route, North Jackson Street, Magnolia

Parade route, North Jackson Street, Magnolia

Parade entry

Parade entry

Parade entry

Parade entry

SAU Christmas tree, Overstreet Hall

SAU Christmas tree, Overstreet Hall

An extra fireworks image (I actually like this one better)

An extra fireworks image (I actually like this one better)

Christa poses for a photo in the Giant Yellow Chair on the mall. Cute!

Christa poses for a photo in the Giant Yellow Chair on the mall. Cute!

Leave a Reply

