Trees of Light

SAU has activated its 107 Christmas trees on the south lawn of campus (adjacent to Overstreet Hall), and as I have for the past two years, I was out on Night One to photograph them. I learned at tonight’s Celebration of Lights ceremony that the various colors of the trees represent different eras of SAU history, something even Christa hadn’t known before. Innywho, I used my wide-angle lens to capture the images tonight … and quickly realized how bored I was, not only with the subjects (colorful as they may be) but my method of shooting. I grabbed some standard-issue shots, then got creative. I decided to take some long exposures, and since the trees obviously are not in motion, create motion myself by swiveling my hips and doing a slow pan with the shutter open. I thought this might mimic car lights creating a swirl on the sensor. I set my camera at ISO 1600, f/4, shutter speed 2.0, and upped my exposure by 3.  The sometimes fiery results confirmed this idea.

Christmas trees, SAU

Christmas trees, SAU

Overstreet Hall and Christmas tree

Overstreet Hall and Christmas tree

Christmas trees, SAU

Christmas trees, SAU

Greek Theatre, SAU

Greek Theatre, SAU

Christmas tree, SAU

Christmas tree, SAU

Christmas trees, SAU

Christmas trees, SAU

Leave a Reply

